Murphy Wins CGA Senior Stroke Play Championship

Steve Murphy of Black Bear GC shot 77 in the final round for a 213 (-3) total to earn a one stroke victory in the CGA Senior Stroke Play Championship at Heritage Todd Creek. Murphy, who entered the final round with a five-stroke lead, held on to earn a wire-to-wire victory which was his second wire-to-wire victory in three years (2006.)

Similar to 2006, Murphy entered the final round with a big lead and struggled to hold onto it, and in both cases is was Rick Gorbell of Springs Ranch GC chasing him in the final group. “This time I played better”, said Murphy, “but taking a two-stroke penalty on 10 was really frustrating. I’m just glad I held it together.”

Murphy was sitting even par for the day in the 10th fairway when Gorbell’s second shot from the native struck Murphy’s ball moving it a few inches. Murphy however failed to replace his ball before playing and consequently incurred a 2-stroke penalty. Murphy then made bogey on #11 and Gorbell made par narrowing Murphy’s lead to four strokes. On the par-4 13th, Gorbell made birdie and when Murphy’s par putt rimmed out, Gorbell was two strokes back.

Murphy settled down making steady pars and keeping his lead until the par-3 17th where his tee shot nearly found the water hazard.
Murphy was forced to take a stance with one leg knee-deep in the water and incredibly was able to play the ball to the center of the green to eventually save bogey. Gorbell made par and cut Murphy’s lead to one going into the final hole. On the par-5 18th, Gorbell narrowly missed his birdie attempt settling for par, and Murphy faced a five-foot par put for the victory. With a confident stroke, Murphy’s putt found the back of the cup securing the win. Gorbell finished at two-under 214 and in a second place tie for the third straight year in this event. Greg Goode of Murphy Creek GC shot the low round of the day, a two-under 70, to move into a second place tie with Gorbell at 214.

Defending champion Robert Polk of Colorado GC shot 71 in the final round to finish fourth at 215. Five-time champion John Olive of the Broadmoor GC finished at even par 216 to win the Super Senior Division title and finish in fifth place overall.

The Warren Simmons Trophy will reside at Murphy’s home club, Black Bear GC, until the 2009 Championship.

Steve Murphy, Black Bear GC, 68-68-77–213
Richard Gorbell, Springs Ranch GC, 72-69-73–214
Greg Goode, Murphy Creek GC, 71-73-70–214
Robert Polk, Colorado GC, 71-73-71–215
John Olive, Broadmoor GC, 71-72-73–216
Kelly Crone, Deer Creek at Meadow Ranch, 73-71-76–220
Rick Weston, Meridian GC, 76-71-73–220
Robin Bradbury, Omni Interlocken, 76-73-72–221
Jerry Kidney, Overland GC, 73-76-72–221
Pat Bowe, The Courses at Hyland Hills, 76-72-74–222
Reed Myer, Denver Country Club, 73-75-74–222
Larry Netherton, Highlands Ranch GC, 74-74-75–223
Rich Trout, Rolling Hills CC, 74-76-73–223
Chuck Fisher, Riverdale GC, 73-74-77–224
Sean Forey, Bear Creek GC, 75-74-75–224
Kent Moore, Cherry Hills CC, 76-75-73–224
Frank Fager, Black Bear GC, 76-75-74–225
Brian Mooney, Lake Valley GC, 78-75-72–225
Art Cudworth, Bear Creek GC, 74-77-75–226
Rick George, Castle Pines GC, 72-77-77–226
Hal Marshall, Bear Creek GC, 76-74-76–226
Jim Bantley, Overland GC, 75-75-76–226
Fred Birner, Meridian GC, 76-74-77–227
Mark Franz, Saddle Rock GC, 80-75-74–229
Brady Hendren, Cherry Creek CC, 80-74-75–229
Charlie Post, Colorado GC, 75-77-77–229
Jim Pierce, Black Bear GC, 78-74-77–229
Kronin Kelley, The Heritage at Westmoor, 80-76-73–229
Bill Boyd, Highland Hills GC, 76-75-79–230
David Farabaugh, The Ranch CC, 75-79-76–230
Doug Jones, Tiara Rado GC, 77-76-77–230
Ron Perry, Willis Case GC, 71-77-82–230
Art Doyle, Elmwood Golf Course, 77-79-74–230
Roger Gunderson, Green Valley Ranch GC, 77-76-78–231
Steve Bell, Denver CC, 74-80-77–231
Jerry Beren, Lone Tree GC, 77-79-76–232
Bob Heiny, Highland Hills GC, 79-76-77–232
Frank Carson, Meridian GC, 75-77-80–232
Rod Walters, Indian Tree GC, 79-77-78–234
Don Berthiaume, Highlands Ranch GC, 75-81-79–235
Bruce Hogg, Colorado Springs Country Club, 78-77-80–235
Robert Clark, Lake Valley GC, 75-80-81–236
Kary Kaltenbacher, Glenmoor CC, 76-80-82–238
Gary Potter, Denver CC, 75-81-82–238
David Delich, Broadmoor GC, 74-82-WD–WD

John Sostmann, Columbine CC, 80-77–157
Bo Powell, West Woods GC, 81-76–157
Laird Middleton, Lone Tree GC, 81-76–157
Paul Gagnon, Springs Ranch Golf Club, 79-78–157
Frank Wilkinson, Lincoln Park GC, 75-83–158
Jim Kronus, Lincoln Park GC, 78-80–158
Larry Lewnard, Raccoon Creek GC, 80-78–158
Gary Fox, Country Club at Castle Pines The, 81-77–158
Scott Anderson, Fort Collins CC, 79-80–159
Steven Coyer, Eagle Springs GC, 79-80–159
Harry Johnson, Eagle Ranch GC, 81-78–159
Russ Hickman, Mountain Vista Greens Golf Course, 80-79–159
Bill Burns, Hillcrest Golf Club, 81-78–159
Jeff Wagner, Fox Hollow Golf Course, 80-79–159
Dan Grigsby, Riverdale GC, 81-79–160
Bill Bye, Saddle Rock Golf Course, 78-82–160
Tom Mesch, Lakewood Country Club, 80-80–160
Nick Lusero, Walking Stick Golf Course, 79-81–160
Scott Crone, Deer Creek at Meadow Ranch, 80-81–161
Bruce Speegel, Heritage Eagle Bend Golf & Country Club, 81-80–161
Kenneth Tai, Perry Park Country Club, 83-78–161
Aaron Babl, Twin Peaks Golf Course, 80-81–161
Fred Steffers, Springs Ranch Golf Club, 83-79–162
Kirk Miller, Estes Park GC, 80-82–162
Michael Davis, Meadow Hills GC, 81-82–163
Ben Barnes, Heather Ridge CC, 86-77–163
Bill Bekeza, Desert Hawk at Pueblo West, 81-82–163
Michael Day, Meadow Hills GC, 87-77–164
Joe Morrill, Eagle Ranch GC, 78-86–164
Steve Stoltz, Fort Collins CC, 86-79–165
Tom Turner, Ptarmigan CC, 84-83–167
Mike Miyaki, Kennedy GC, 85-82–167
Dave Bell, Hiwan Golf Club, 89-79–168
Chris King, Cherry Hills Country Club, 85-84–169
Dick Schmaltz, Walking Stick Golf Course, 82-89–171
Jay Moelis, Heritage at Todd Creek, 89-85–174
Jack Manzi, Bear Creek GC, 82-WD–WD   


Go to CGA Senior Stroke Play Results Archive