CU’s Webber Wins 66th CGA State Amateur Stroke Play

Kane Webber of Sunset Golf Course will be a senior this fall on the University of Colorado golf team, and Sunday he added “State Amateur Champion” to his resume. Webber fired a two-under par 70 for a 287 (-1) total to overtake DU’s Shawn Wills of The Ranch Country Club and win the 66th CGA State Amateur Stroke Play Championship by one stroke. “It feels great!” said the 22-year-old from Lismore, Australia of the biggest win of his amateur career. Webber’s 287 was the only total under par for the tournament.

Webber began the day four stroke behind the leader Wills, and mounted his charge to victory early. He birdied the first hole, and after pars on 2 and 3, birdied 4, 5 and 6 consecutively. Despite starting the final round four-under through the first six holes, Webber finished the front nine at two-under (34). He proceeded to rattle off nine straight pars on the back nine to finish two-under. Webber pinpointed his strong putting all week as the part of his game that enabled him to win. That and his Sunday performance on Saddle Rock’s hole #10, which is considered one of the most difficult par-4’s in the state. “Shooting par on 10 today is really what won the tournament for me,” Webber said with a smile. “I played 10 six-over for the first three rounds. That hole was a killer.” Webber received the coveted Tub Morris traveling trophy for his victory. His name will join those of former champions such as Babe Lind, Steve Jones, Hale Irwin and Brandt Jobe, and the trophy will be displayed at his home club, Sunset Golf Course.

Wills finished the day at 75 and even par 288 for the tournament to take second. He had a chance to force a playoff with a par on 18, but hit his drive into a fairway bunker. His approached left him short of the green and was unable to get up and down to save par and force a playoff. 1999 champion Rick DeWitt of West Woods Golf Club carded a 74 in the final round to finish in a tie for third place at 293 with Trey Treadwell of Meridian Golf Club, who finished the day with and even par 72. Stephen Carroll of Flatirons Golf Course took fifth place at 294, one stroke ahead of sixth place finisher Andy Connell of Denver Country Club.

Kane Webber, Sunset GC, 74-71-72-70–287
Shawn Wills, The Ranch CC, 70-74-69-75–288
Rick DeWitt, Westwoods GC, 75-73-71-74–293
Trey Treadwell, Meridian GC, 74-73-74-72–293
Stephen Carroll, Flatirons GC, 73-71-73-77–294
Andy Connell, Denver CC, 71-71-76-77–295
Jon Lindstrom, Murphy Creek GC, 68-75-75-78–296
Blake Mastalir, Denver CC, 70-78-74-75–297
David Delich, Broadmoor GC, 70-81-72-74–297
Mark Franz, Saddle Rock GC, 74-73-68-82–297
Tommy Hart, Cherry Creek CC, 78-69-80-71–298
David Maurstad, Murphy Creek GC, 72-74-77-75–298
Matt Strong, Wellshire GC, 72-76-73-77–298
Steven Brooks, Inverness GC, 76-75-78-72–301
Bill Fowler, Rolling Hills CC, 73-74-81-73–301
Travis Morton, Raccoon Creek GC, 77-78-77-71–303
Charlie Luther, Wellshire GC, 74-76-80-73–303
Patrick Baxter, Glenmoor CC, 81-72-75-75–303
Daryl Fengler, Saddle Rock GC, 78-76-72-77–303
Michael Glaesel, Indian Tree GC, 75-78-76-76–305
Matt Parkin, Hyland Hills GC, 77-79-77-73–306
Henry Bissell, Wellshire GC, 81-75-74-76–306
Jeff Hanson, Sunset GC, 76-73-79-78–306
Brett Lapierre, The Ridge at Castle Pines, 70-77-77-82–306
Frank Fager, Saddle Rock GC, 75-81-75-76–307
Josh Koschke, Hyland Hills GC, 81-71-81-75–308
Bob Heiny, Highlands Hills GC, 78-72-79-79–308
Ray Rodriguez, Fort Morgan GC, 76-76-75-81–308
Owen Ellis, Flatirons GC, 80-73-79-77–309
Ryan Anderson, Greeley CC, 74-81-76-78–309
Sam Froggatte, Gleneagle GC, 72-81-78-78–309
Ray Makloski, Pueblo CC, 74-81-77-78–310
Martin Prazak, Meadow Hills GC, 75-76-76-83–310
Jason Coffin, Fox Hill CC, 76-75-81-79–311
Shawn Mercer, Broadlands GC, 78-77-75-81–311
Matthew Gutowski, Coal Creek GC, 76-74-85-77–312
Justin Dahl, Broadlands GC, 77-79-79-79–314
Eric Scanniello, Indian Peaks GC, 77-78-77-82–314
Peter Perry, South Suburban GC, 73-77-87-82–319
Pat Bowe, Hyland Hills GC, 77-79-84-81–321

Brent Warkentine, The Ranch CC, 84-73–157
Anthony Giarratano, Castle Pines CC, 76-81–157
Kent Moore, Cherry Hills CC, 80-77–157
Spence Black, South Suburban GC, 78-79–157
David Snow, Saddle Rock GC, 77-80–157
Rick George, Castle Pines GC, 81-77–158
Ryan Husted, Highlands Ranch GC, 81-77–158
Marc Hocking, Valley Hi GC, 79-79–158
Arnold Hoy, The Ridge at Castle Pines, 77-81–158
Christian Sanchez, Coal Creek GC, 77-81–158
Randy Smith, Lone Tree GC, 76-82–158
Billy Day, Shadow Hills GC, 81-78–159
Sean McAllister, Columbine CC, 78-81–159
Matthew Brunk, Collindale GC, 80-79–159
Justin Bretting, Mariana Butte GC, 79-80–159
David Harris, Saddle Rock GC, 76-83–159
Cory Collins, Coal Creek GC, 77-82–159
Chase Wortmann, Bookcliff CC, 77-83–160
Will McAllister, Columbine CC, 81-79–160
David Gross, Flatirons GC, 81-79–160
Eric Foote, Saddle Rock GC, 79-81–160
Roger Gunderson, Heather Ridge CC, 82-79–161
Dave Roylance, Saddle Rock GC, 75-86–161
Dale Chavez, Deer Creek at Meadow Ranch, 83-78–161
David Jackson, The Meadows GC, 79-82–161
James Reynolds, Lone Tree GC, 81-81–162
Steve Bryant, Southridge GC, 80-82–162
John Canon, Mira Vista GC, 78-84–162
Scott Brozena, The Meadows GC, 81-82–163
Brandon Dornseif, Lakewood CC, 84-80–164
Jason Kramer, Meridian GC, 85-80–165
Dean Clapp, Meadow Hills GC, 85-80–165
Steve Spencer, Riverdale GC, 83-82–165
Jeff Lauretti, The Ridge at Castle Pines, 84-82–166
Michael Davis, Meadow Hills GC, 84-83–167
Cody Eberl, Bear Creek GC, 89-79–168
Clint Guerra, Kennedy GC, 82-86–168
Kevin Denton, Cordillera Valley Course, 80-89–169
Charles Soule, Ute Creek GC, 86-85–171
Richard Barg, Meadow Hills GC, 79-92–171
Geoff Nuwash, Fort Collins CC, 72-WD (Made US Amateur as alternate)
Tyson Shinaut, The Pinery CC, 82-WD
James Matuszewski, Overland Park GC, 86-WD 

Go to CGA Stroke Play Results Archive