Post Wins CGA State Senior Stroke Play by Eight Strokes

Charlie Post of Plum Creek Golf & Country Club (pictured between retired CGA Executive Director Warren Simmons and current Executive Director Ed Mate) fired a final round 69 for a 209 total to win the CGA State Amateur Senior Stroke Play Championship at Meadow Hills Golf Course. Post, who recently finished as the second low amateur in the IHS Colorado Senior Open, had been close to winning this event in the past. This year he not only won it, he dominated it – saving his best round for the final round and winning by eight strokes. By taking the 2000 title, Post is the recipient of the inaugural Warren Simmons Trophy named after the recently retired Executive Director, and past President, of the CGA. Three players tied for second place at 217, and each will receive the CGA Silver Medal. They were: Scott Peterson of Denver Country Club, Jim Pierce of Pinery Country Club, and David Richardson of Fox Hill Country Club. Mark Achziger of Greeley Country Club finished third at 218.

Joe Morill of Cordillera Mountain Course, playing in his first tournament in 40 years, won the Super Seniors Division at 223. Don Baughman of Lincoln Park Golf Course took second at 224.

Charlie Post, Plum Creek GC, 70-70-69–209
Scott Peterson, Denver CC, 72-74-71–217
Jim Pierce, Pinery CC, 71-74-72–217
David Richardson, Fox Hill CC, 71-73-73–217
Mark Achziger, Greeley CC, 67-76-75–218
Jerry Kidney, Overland Park GC, 75-74-70–219
Mike Christie, Saddle Rock GC, 74-72-73–219
Bob Heiny, Highland Hills GC, 73-71-75–219
Richard Oh, Meridian GC, 71-71-77–219
Patrick Almdale, Hyland Hills GC, 70-71-79–220
Harry King, Denver City Park GC, 71-76-74–221
James Grubbs, Canterberry GC, 74-73-74–221
John Callahan, Foothills GC, 71-75-75–221
Terry Russell, Meadow Hills GC, 72-75-75–222
Roger Gunderson, Meadow Hills GC, 70-75-77–222
Gary Snyder, Aspen GC, 70-79-74–223
Joe Morrill, Corillera Mountain GC, 73-74-76–223
Peter Perry, South Suburban GC, 70-77-76–223
Ronald Knapp, Pinery CC, 72-79-73–224
Tom Kundinger, Denver CC, 74-77-73–224
Jack Quinlivan, Bear Creek GC, 77-74-73–224
Don Baughman, Lincoln Park GC, 74-75-75–224
Scott Crone, Pinehurst CC, 77-71-76–224
Doug Jones, Tiara Rado GC, 73-79-73–225
Gary Potter, Denver CC, 74-75-76–225
Gene Schroth, Breckenridge GC, 74-75-76–225
John Kaiser, The Meadows GC, 77-71-77–225
Bernie Mares, Denver City Park GC, 69-77-79–225
Jim Hotchkiss, Bear Creek GC, 76-80-70–226
Jim Bristow, Meadow Hills GC, 70-79-77–226
William Bekeza, Desert Hawk GC, 80-76-71–227
Chris King, Cherry Hills CC, 74-77-76–227
Bob Hawk, Castle Pines GC, 79-75-74–228
Max Mohr, Eisenhower GC, 76-78-74–228
Warren Simmons, CC at Castle Pines, 76-75-77–228
Kirk Miller, Estes Park GC, 76-78-75–229
Jim Voigt, Inverness GC, 77-79-74–230
Chuck Melvin, Ute Creek GC, 76-79-75–230
Stuart Hoover, Wellshire GC, 81-73-76–230
Rocky Zuendel, CC of Colorado, 75-78-77–230
Bert Welz, Columbine CC, 77-75-78–230
Larry Voris, Fox Hill CC, 72-78-80–230
Jim White, Breckenridge GC, 75-72-83–230
Greg Mokler, Ft. Collins CC, 73-81-77–231
Bill Reichardt, Sonnenalp GC, 73-77-81–231
Dave Lawson, Hyland Hills GC, 72-82-78–232
Larry Pate, Bear Creek GC, 77-75-80–232
Loran Billinger, Meadow Hills GC, 76-78-80–234
John South, Fox Hill CC, 79-78-79–236
Rick Pirog, Cordillera Valley CC, 77-79-80–236
Ray Best, Aurora Hills GC, 76-84-80–240
Jim Rodgers, Indian Tree GC, 77-81-82–240
Bill Hancock, Pine Creek GC, 75-79-86–240
Don H. Miller, CC of Colorado, 77-83-84–244
Dick Johnson, Aurora Hills GC, 81-79-86–246
Guy Johnson, Valley Hi GC, 78-81-92–251
Michael Somma, River Valley Ranch GC, 78-75-NC–NC
Armando Torres, Denver City Park GC, 77-79-WD–WD

Dave H. Brown, Aurora Hills GC, 80-77–157
John Boyles, Pinery CC, 80-77–157
Chet Baker, Fox Hollow GC, 80-77–157
John South, Fox Hill CC, 79-78–157
Bob Bauers, Boulder CC, 78-79–157
Sunny Hong, Meridain GC, 75-82–157
Richard Barg, Saddle Rock GC, 74-83–157
Chuck Canepa, Bear Creek GC, 80-78–158
Jim Rodgers, Indian Tree GC, 77-81–158
Tom Gwin, Denver City Park GC, 76-82–158
James Higgins, Fox Hill CC, 81-78–159
Guy Johnson, Valley Hi GC, 78-81–159
Mark Hasson, The Divide, 76-83–159
Mike Rodriguez, Overland Park GC, 83-77–160
Dick Johnson, Aurora Hills GC, 81-79–160
Paul Schierholz, CC of Colorado, 81-79–160
Russell Hatfield, Pagosa Springs GC, 78-82–160
Don H. Miller, CC of Colorado, 77-83–160
Ray Best, Aurora Hills GC, 76-84–160
Tom Gillette, Loveland GC, 76-84–160
Joe Streater, Meridian GC, 80-81–161
Denny Holmes, Meridian GC, 84-78–162
Smith Tonahill, Columbine CC, 83-79–162
David Davis, Applewood GC, 83-79–162
Jim Phelps, Patty Jewett GC, 78-84–162
Tim Dewell, Springs Ranch GC, 84-80–164
Chris Douse, Twin Peaks GC, 83-81–164
Jack Jacobson, Conquistador GC, 81-83–164
Steve Kopischke, Englewood GC, 81-83–164
Terry Burley, The Meadows GC, 80-84–164
Larry Hayes, Hyland Hills GC, 83-82–165
Mark Volk, Highlands Ranch GC, 85-81–166
Frank Beck, Flatirons GC, 81-86–167
Jerome Hause, Pinehurst CC, 81-86–167
Dick Schmaltz, Walking Stick GC, 77-90–167
Michael Straud, Mira Vista GC, 86-82–168
Rick Thorstad, Denver City Park GC, 82-86–168
Bob Harder, Indian Tree GC, 83-86–169
Duncan Roberts, Bear Creek GC, 83-86–169
Bill Bogdanoff, South Suburban GC, 89-83–172
Larry Hanes, Pinery CC, 87-92–179
Jim White, Haymaker Golf Course, 90-93–183
David Sharpnack, Red Hawk Ridge GC, 92-93–185
Dan Alexander, CC at Castle Pines, 90-101–191 

Go to CGA Senior Stroke Play Results Archive