Stoltz Earns Wire-to-Wire Victory in CGA State Stroke Play

CHSAA 5A boys’ state champion Drew Stoltz of Fort Collins Country Club shot 72 in the final round of the 68th CGA State Amateur Stroke Play Championship at Lakewood Country Club to win with a four-day total of 276 (eight under par). Stoltz, who earned the Maschinot medal for the low first round score (66), never looked back earning his first wire-to-wire victory.

Stoltz entered the final round with a four stroke lead over 1999 champion (the last year the event was played at Lakewood CC) Rick DeWitt of West Woods Golf Club. “A four-stoke lead is tough,” said Stoltz afterwards. “You’re expected to win then, and if you don’t you’re labeled a choker. Stoltz struggled a bit on the back with bogeys on 10, 11 and 12, but was able to regroup and hold off DeWitt’s charge. DeWitt was able to narrow Stoltz’s lead to two strokes, but Stoltz maintained his composure and birdied 18 to earn a three stroke victory. DeWitt finished with an even par 71 to earn second place at 279 (five under par).

Stoltz, a Poudre High School graduate now playing for Texas Christian University, said this win was the biggest of his career. “Winning the state high school championship was great because you only have a couple of chances at it, but every amateur dreams of winning the state amateur championship. The names on the trophy are the guys whose footsteps I want to follow in, and this is a big step in that direction.” Stoltz’s name will join others such as Babe Lind, Hale Irwin, Steve Jones and Brandt Jobe on the Tub Morris trophy which will be displayed at Fort Collins Country Club for the next year.

Jim Grady of Omni Interlocken Resort shot 70 in the final round to finish in third place at even par 284. 2001 CGA Boys’ Stroke Play champion Derek O’Neill of Lone Tree Golf Club, 2000 CGA Boys’ Match Play champion Dustin Mills of Indian Tree Golf Course, and current UNC player Kyle Sullivan of Bookcliff Country Club all tied for fourth place at 286.

Drew Stoltz, Ft. Collins CC, 66-71-67-72–276
Rick DeWitt, West Woods GC, 72-70-66-71–279
Jim Grady, Omni at Interlocken, 72-73-69-70–284
Dustin Mills, Indian Tree GC, 71-67-77-71–286
Derek O’Neill, Lone Tree GC, 70-71-72-73–286
Kyle Sullivan, Bookcliff CC, 69-71-71-75–286
Darrin Hall, Lakewood CC, 74-72-73-69–288
Aaron Weston, Meridian GC, 72-74-71-71–288
Steve Irwin, Lakewood CC, 74-73-67-74–288
Chuck Schmidt, Heritage at Westmoor, 75-72-72-70–289
John White, Yampa Valley GC, 67-73-76-73–289
James Kurtenbach, South Suburban GC, 71-74-71-73–289
Chris Carlson, Lone Tree GC, 72-72-75-71–290
Bill Fowler, Rolling Hills CC, 72-72-72-74–290
Jeff Philippe, The Pinery CC, 72-73-76-70–291
Mitch Perry, Sonnenalp GC, 73-75-73-70–291
Steve Ivan, Patty Jewett GC, 70-74-72-75–291
Kelly Crone, Deer Creek GC, 72-74-69-76–291
Kent Moore, Cherry Hills CC, 76-73-73-70–292
Barry Erwin, Collindale GC, 74-74-72-72–292
Ray Makloski, Pueblo CC, 70-76-74-73–293
Kenny Coakley, Fox Hollow GC, 74-73-72-74–293
Chase Wortmann, Bookcliff CC, 75-72-71-75–293
Tyler Symons, Valley CC, 75-71-69-79–294
Ryan Anderson, Greeley CC, 71-76-78-71–296
Jeff Donnelly, Lakewood CC, 71-74-75-76–296
Brian Richmeier, Meadow Hills GC, 73-72-75-76–296
Matthew Brunk, Pelican Lakes CC, 75-75-73-74–297
Michael Baird, Plum Creek CC, 75-72-72-78–297
Dan Silva, South Suburban GC, 78-72-70-78–298
John Scott, Englewood Golf Course, 73-78-70-78–299
Chris Roehrkasse, Colorado Springs CC, 75-73-76-76–300
Doug Jones, Tiara Rado GC, 76-75-76-74–301
John Zerwin, The Ranch CC, 76-74-77-76–303
Larry Netherton, Highlands Ranch G.C., 76-74-77-76–303
Michael Ryan, Raccoon Creek GC, 76-74-75-78–303
Tyson Shinaut, The Pinery CC, 77-74-77-76–304
Jeff Lauretti, Ridge at Castle Pines, 74-75-75-80–304
Michael Glaesel, Indian Tree GC, 74-76-79-81–310
Brian O’Hara, Lakewood CC, 76-74-81-80–311

Todd Novak, Vail GC, 76-76–152
Michael Love, Highlands Ranch GC, 75-77–152
David Dinges, Saddleback GC, 78-74–152
Ryan Husted, Highlands Ranch GC, 75-78–153
Peter Hanigan, Breckenridge GC, 75-78–153
Dave Hunn, City Park Nine, 77-76–153
Jim Doidge, Pueblo CC, 78-75–153
Michael Unger, Arrowhead GC, 79-74–153
Matthew Gutowski, Broadlands GC, 76-77–153
David Lysaught, Pineuhurst CC, 75-78–153
Michael Ventimiglia, The Broadlands GC, 79-75–154
Charlie Post, Plum Creek GC, 83-71–154
Michael Giannetto, Elmwood CC, 77-77–154
Tom Lawrence, Lakewood CC, 80-75–155
Clint Dudley, Twin Peaks GC, 76-79–155
Keith McGlothlen, Desert Hawk GC, 75-81–156
Pat Bowe, Hyland Hills GC, 79-77–156
Bill Boyd, Highland Hills GC, 78-78–156
Jeff Reser, Lone Tree GC, 80-76–156
Frank Wilkinson, Tiara Rado GC, 79-78–157
Darren Hicks, Hyland Hills GC, 76-81–157
Charlie Luther, Wellshire GC, 78-79–157
Jack Manzi, Bear Creak GC, 80-77–157
Dean Clapp, Meadow Hills GC, 77-80–157
Frank Fager, Murphy Creek GC, 81-77–158
Scott Radcliffe, Rolling Hills CC, 80-78–158
Pat Grady, Eagle Trace GC, 79-79–158
Michael Freeborg, Fossil Trace GC, 81-78–159
D.H. Brown, Aurora Hills GC, 80-79–159
Scott Peterson, Denver CC, 80-79–159
Taylor Ross, Pinery CC, 82-77–159
Marc Zupan, Shadow Hills GC, 81-79–160
David McDuffee, South Suburban GC, 76-84–160
Jeff Franks, Haymaker GC, 81-79–160
James Heath, Valley Hi GC, 83-78–161
Scott Thomas, Highlands Ranch GC, 84-77–161
Matt MCCoy, Legacy Ridge GC, 83-78–161
David Tregemba, Plum Creek GC, 82-81–163
Billy Candler, Flatirons GC, 78-85–163
Andrew Dannewitz, Meadow Hills GC, 84-83–167
Scott Tarbet, Aspen GC, WD
Pete Severson, Walkingstick GC, WD 

Go to CGA Stroke Play Results Archive