Article Search:         

Holder, Mulstay Take CGA Net Four-Ball Open Division Title

May 4-5, 2002, Fort Morgan Golf Course

by Colorado Golf Association - 5/5/2002

The 2002 CGA State Amateur Championship season officially got underway this weekend with the CGA Net Four-Ball Tournament hosted by Fort Morgan Golf Club. The team of Jerry Holder of Redlands Mesa Golf Club and Jim Mulstay of Inverness Golf Club (pictured) combined for a net 121 (60-61) to earn a one-stroke victory in the Open Division. Holder and Mulstay began the final round one stroke behind David Juarez and Vince Troisi of Ute Creek Golf Course, who had carded a net 59 in the first round. Juarez and Troisi took second place with their second round 63 giving them a net total of 122. Heritage at Westmoor players Don Figgins and Steve Menikheim took third at 125, one stroke ahead of the fourth place teams from Fox Hollow Golf Course (Danny Wyrick and Steve Thorne) and Collindale Golf Course (George and Bill Hamlin).

The Senior Division required a playoff to crown a champion. Robert Brown and Homer Strain of Walking Stick Golf Course (pictured) won the Senior Division on the first playoff hole with a net birdie. Brown and Strain had fired a 121 (61-60) for the tournament, the identical 61-60--121 fired by the team of Albert Walkup and Duncan Roberts of Hyland Hills Golf Courses, who took second by losing the playoff. John Dernovish and Dave Garcia of Indian Tree Golf Course tied for third place at 122 with Daryle Billinger and John Mullin of Riverdale Golf Courses.

Jim Mulstay, Inverness GC, Jerry Holder, Redlands Mesa GC, 60-61--121
David Juarez, Ute Creek GC, Vince Troisi, Ute Creek GC, 59-63--122
Don Figgins, Heritage at Westmoor, Steve Menikheim, Heritage at Westmoor, 62-63--125
Danny Wyrick, Fox Hollow GC, Steven Thorne, Fox Hollow GC, 65-61--126
George Hamlin, Collindale GC, Bill Hamlin, Collindale GC, 62-64--126
Mike Shupe, Links at Highlands Ranch, Dan Murphy, Links at Highlands Ranch, 67-60--127
Val Walker, Centennial GC, Joe O'Toole, Centennial GC, 62-65--127
Bruce Pelon, Lake Arbor GC, Mark Kaiser, Lake Arbor GC, 63-65--128
Kevin Metz, Golf Club Colorado, Darren Metz, Golf Club Colorado, 67-62--129
Shawn Mercer, Broadlands GC, Troy Cunningham, Broadlands GC, 66-64--130
Aaron Kellough, Golf Club Colorado, Kyle Snyder, Golf Club Colorado, 64-68--132
Mike Kuberski, City Park GC, Nate Kuberski, City Park GC, 68-65--133
Keith Hugenberg, Thorncreek GC, Greg McDonald, Thorncreek GC, 67-66--133
Jon Lindstrom, Murphy Creek GC, Ron Platz, Olde Course at Loveland, 68-65--133
Kary Kaltenbacher, Glenmoor CC, Mark Ugale, Glenmoor CC, 68-67--135
David Tresch, Ute Creek GC, Randy Peacock, Ute Creek GC, 69-67--136
Tim Rudden, Sunset GC, Carroll Moore, Sunset GC, 66-70--136


Homer Strain, Walking Stick GC, Robert Brown, Walking Stick GC, 61-60--121
Albert Walkup, Hyland Hills GC, Duncan Roberts, Hyland Hills GC, 61-60--121
John Dernovish, Indian Tree GC, Dave Garcia, Indian Tree GC, 59-63--122
Daryle Billinger, Riverdale GC, John Mullin, Riverdale GC, 58-64--122
Tim Henning, Greeley CC, Charles Bush, Greeley CC, 64-60--124
Al Linton, Fox Hill CC, Larry Ayers, Fox Hill CC, 65-60--125
R.P. McCloskey, Fox Hollow GC, Lance Lindsay, Meadows GC, 64-61--125
Phil Viseur, Lone Tree GC, Merril Hval, Lone Tree GC, 60-65--125
Jerry Melaragno, Fox Hill CC, Richard Doll, Fox Hill CC, 64-62--126
Charles Stevens, Aurora Hills GC, Ron Scholes, Pinehurst CC, 62-64--126
John Lough, Ft. Morgan GC, Ken McCloud, Ft. Morgan GC, 64-64--128
Ken Callaway, Eaton CC, Steve Liggett, Eaton CC, 65-64--129
Pat Swenson, Eaton CC, Chuck Ahlbrecht, Eaton CC, 63-66--129
Wally Brinkman, Highland Hills GC, Dale Jarman, Highland Hills GC, 64-66--130
Thurman Wright, Eaton CC, Aaron Parkhurst, Eaton CC, 63-67--130
Richard Johnson, Aurora Hills GC, Ray Best, Aurora Hills GC, 69-62--131
Jack Lynch, Aurora Hills GC, Gene Yahn, Aurora Hills GC, 69-62--131
Mike Lyons, Inverness GC, Mike Mullins, Inverness GC, 63-68--131
Allen Vean, Bear Creek GC, Frank Cimmino, Bear Creek GC, 67-65--132
George Miller, Fox Hollow GC, Sam Martinez, Fox Hollow GC, 64-68--132
Marlon Osborne, Indian Tree GC, Jim Quinn, Indian Tree GC, 61-71--132
Stuart Crespin, Ft. Morgan GC, Joe Weatherby, Ft. Morgan GC, 64-69--133
John South, Fox Hill CC, Thomas Mason, Fox Hill CC, 67-67--134
Len Varriano, Higland Hills GC, Joe Aschenbrenner, Highland Hills GC, 70-65--135
Ron Kubicki, City Park GC, Bill Knobbe, City Park GC, 68-67--135
Robert Woerdehoff, Fox Hill CC, Phil Wong, Fox Hill CC, 67-69--136
Clark Fassett, Fox Hill CC, Ted Schey, Fox Hill CC, 68-69--137
Don Sager, Fox Hollow GC, George Hall, Fox Hollow GC, 70-68--138
Tom Sachs, Perry Park CC, Tim LoVerde, Perry Park CC, 70-68--138
Jack Baird, Indian Peaks GC, Jim Bowers, Indian Peaks GC, 68-70--138

Go to CGA Net Four-Ball Results Archive

Article Search: